members only

concert diary

ticket sales

our CDs

contact us

book us

sing with us

friends of the choir

Singer of the Year

our history

learn Welsh

photo gallery

. Singer of the Year 2017 .

Congratulations to Bronte Zemlic (Mezzo Soprano) who is our Singer of The Year for 2017. With the title goes the $5,000 prize money - thanks to our major sponsors Infiniti Brighton.

Bronte Zemlic with Cameron Semark, director of Infiniti Brighton

Raphael Wong, Cristina Russo and Chloe Harris were each awarded $1,000 prize money courtesy of The Robert Salzer Foundation, The Melbourne Welsh Church and other individual sponsors.

Raphael Wong Cristina Russo Chloe Harris
(baritone) (Soprano) (Mezzo Soprano)

Commendations were awarded to Kimberley Colman and Lyndon Green who were each awarded $250

Kimberley Colman Lyndon Green
(Soprano) (Tenor)

2017 is the 25th Anniversary of our Singer Of The Year Competition. Over those 25 years we have been fortunate to have sponsor assistance to provide necessary funding of this competition. To enable us to build this event and continue into future years, we ask you to consider making a tax deductable donation towards the prize money we offer - please look at the following site: https://chuffed.org/project/mwmc

The 2017 Melbourne Welsh Male Choir - Singer of the Year was adjudicated by Graeme Wall, Margot Cory-wall and David Ashton-Smith.


The inaugural Singer of the Year Competition was held in 1993 and since then it has become one of Australia's leading Performance competitions. It is one of the few competitions which emphasise performance as a key criteria. Previous winners have gone on to grace the national and international opera and concert stages.

Heats are held over two nights, with three contestants chosen to perform at the final, sharing the stage with the internationally-acclaimed Melbourne Welsh Male Choir.

Previous winners of this prestigious competition:

2017 - Bronte Zemlic (Mezzo Soprano)

2016 - Kate Amos (Soprano)

2015 - Michael Lampard (baritone)

2014 - Jeremy Kleeman (bass/baritone)

2013 - Stacey Alleaume (Soprano)

2012 - Lee Abrahmsen (Soprano)

2011 - Siobhan Stagg (Soprano)

2010 - Barbara Zavros (Soprano)

2009 - Samuel Dundas (Baritone)

2008 - Jacqueline Porter (Soprano)

2007 - Adrian Tamburini (Baritone)

2006 - Suzanne Shakespeare (Coloratura-Soprano)

2005 - Lauren Oldham (Soprano)

2004 - Mark Fowler (Tenor)

2003 - Lisa Anne Robinson (Soprano)

2002 - Michelle Cook (Soprano)

2001 - Amanda Forbes (Soprano)

2000 - John Bode (Tenor)

1999 - Alexandra Sherman (Mezzo-Soprano)

1998 - Leslie Martin (Soprano)

1997 - Kim Wheeler (Soprano)

1996 - Antoinette Halloran (Soprano)

1995 - Sally-Anne Russell (Mezzo-Soprano)

1994 - Paul Blewett (Baritone)

1993 - Paul Batey (Tenor)